Zilog z80 to Motorola 6809 Transcode – Part 022 – Quick and dirty Speed Test – Five Sprites and 2 audio samples at the same time

I decided to put the Pac Man Sprite code and audio code together and see how fast the Pac Man transcode could be drawing five compiled sprites and playing back two separate audio samples at the same time.  There’s still a lot of work to do at this point.  The graphics are still leaving junk on the screen and the cut scenes still need to be done.  There are still some audio problems…

But I’m very happy with the speed the game is currently playing.  I’m quite sure I can speed the sprites up a little more, whether it will speed up the game or not I don’t know since it’s all tied to the IRQ hitting 60 times a second.

I thought I’d share a short 2 minute video, showing Pac Man running on the CoCo 3 for anyone who has been following this blog to see where I’m at.  The quality of my CoCo 3 monitor is pretty bad but you can at least see the speed the game is playing at this point in time.  I thought it would be best to show it on a real CoCo 3 monitor rather then from MAME.

The video can be found on youtube here: https://youtu.be/zbmk08UkA3E

See you in the next post…

Glen

This entry was posted in CoCo Programming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment